Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016

    The Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016 will be the 14th annual Junior Eurovision Song Contest, and will take place at the Mediterranean Conference Centre, in Valletta, Malta. This will be the second time that Malta have hosted the Junior Eurovision Song Contest, their first being in 2014. 
    Jon Ola Sand was appointed as the Executive Supervisor for the 2016 Junior Eurovision Song Contest, following the dismissal of the former supervisor, Vladislav Yakovlev. As of 24 July 2016, thirteen countries have announced their provisional participation in the contest with Slovenia and San Marino are both withdrawing from the competition after two and three contests respectively, whilst Poland are returning to the contest after a twelve-year break. According to TVM, the television network operated by the Maltese national broadcaster PBS, it is expected that a total of eighteen countries will be participating at the 2016 contest.
    Unlike in previous editions in which the points awarded were a combination of 50% national juries and 50% televoting, from 2016 onwards only the professional juries would be taken into account, bringing an end to the use of televoting for the first time. The jury votes will be presented graphically, after that the kids jury votes will be anounced by a spokesperson, representing each country.


    Related artists