Eurovision Young Musicians 2016

    The Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 will be the eighteenth edition of the Eurovision Young Musicians contest, which is scheduled to take place on 3 September 2016, outside the Cologne Cathedral, in Cologne, Germany. For a second consecutive time, German public broadcaster Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR) will be the host broadcaster for the event. Musicians representing eleven countries with European Broadcasting Union (EBU) membership, will be taking part in the contest, with San Marino making their debut, while Greece, Moldova, Netherlands, and Portugal withdraw from participation. The candidates will be accompanied by the WDR Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Clemens Schuldt. A five-person jury will decide which of the participants will be awarded with the top-three prizes.
    This year, only 11 countries will participate in the contest, equalling the number of countries that participated in 1992. San Marino will make their debut at the Eurovision Young Musicians. Greece, Moldova, Netherlands and Portugal withdrew from this year's competition.
    The Grand Final will be held on 3 September 2016.
    – Austria: Dominik Wagner, double bass	
    – Croatia: Marko Martinović, tamburitza	
    – Czech Republic: Robert Bílý, piano
    – Germany: Raul Maria Dignola, horn	
    – Hungary: Jakab Roland Attila, violin	
    – Malta: Dmitry Ishkhanov, piano	
    – Norway: Ludvig Gudim, violin
    – Poland: Łukasz Dyczko, saxophone	
    – San Marino: Francesco Stefanelli, cello	
    – Slovenia: Zala Vidic, cello	
    – Sweden: Eliot Nordqvist, piano
    Each of the 11 participants will perform a piece of up to six minutes in length, which will be judged by a five-person professional jury. Jurors will comment on the performances after each participant has finished their piece, adding to the interaction during the show. After all of the performances, the jury will award points to each participant, with the total scores being used to decide the winner. Prizes were be awarded to the first, second, and third placed participants.
    The Eurovision Young Musicians, often shortened to EYM, or Young Musicians, is a biennial music competition for European musicians that are 18 years old or younger. It is organised by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and broadcast on television throughout Europe, with some countries holding national heats.
    The first edition of the Eurovision Young Musicians took place in Manchester, United Kingdom on the 11 May 1982 and 6 countries took part. The contest was won by Markus Pawlik from West Germany, who played the piano. The most recent edition of this competition took place in Cologne, Germany on the 31 May 2014 and was won by Ziyu He, who played the violin for Austria.


    Related artists